DISDEROT LIGHTINGS

  • +
    Watt
  • +
    A21
  • +
    A23
  • +
    A24-1500
  • +
    A24-2200
  • +
    A25
  • +
    A25-190
  • +
    A26-S
  • +
    2093-80
  • +
    2093-150
  • +
    2093-225
  • +
    2093-A
  • +
    2093-BO
  • +
    B5
  • +
    2059
  • +
    AR65
  • +
    AR1
  • +
    6135GM
  • +
    6135PM
  • +
    5980
  • +
    RF503
  • +
    1021
  • +
    M4
  • +
    1013
  • +
    B3
  • +
    B4
  • +
    J14
DESIGNER

SYLVAIN DUBUISSON

Sylvain Dubuisson, architect and designer, was born in Bordeaux on February 20, 1946, from a family of renowned architects: he is the grandson of Emile Dubuisson, author of the belfry of Lille, and son of Jean Dubuisson who has highly collaborated in the construction of the Maine-Montparnasse district (1958-1966) as well as the construction of the National Museum of Popular Arts and Traditions (1959-1969) in Paris.

Sylvain Dubuisson
1946

Graduated in 1973 from the School of Architecture of Saint-Luc in Tournai, Belgium, Sylvain Dubuisson settles independently, since 1980. Having to face the new generation of designers, inspired by street culture and comics that as build the foundations of an expressive and accessible design which carry a great power of communication, Dubuisson stands out with a very personal culture, mixing classical knowledge(mainly literary) with a taste for sciences and a fascination for hight technologies .

His perfectionism makes him go around factories and meet craftsmen, as well as constantly improving the reliability of the new materials. One of his main final touches is the exactness of geometry and the right proportion. His first work was “psychotic objects”, made of an arrangement of heterogeneous elements, like the lamp « Lot of noise for nothing » (1984, coll., National Fund of Contemporary Art, deposited at the Museum of Decorative Arts in Paris). Dubuisson has named his work like so, because it belong to a period of his activity was, in order to assert his own vision of design, he self-financed his creations, which for the most part remain in the prototype stage.

He questions himself about the essence of objects. For example, how can a clock can, simultaneously, give the time and convey the notion of time?

SYLVAIN DUBUISSON

WATT LAMP

WATT LAMP

Find out more

LUMINAIRES DISDEROT

  • +
    Watt
  • +
    A21
  • +
    A23
  • +
    A24-1500
  • +
    A24-2200
  • +
    A25
  • +
    A25-190
  • +
    A26-S
  • +
    2093-80
  • +
    2093-150
  • +
    2093-225
  • +
    2093-A
  • +
    2093-BO
  • +
    B5
  • +
    2059
  • +
    AR65
  • +
    AR1
  • +
    6135GM
  • +
    6135PM
  • +
    5980
  • +
    RF503
  • +
    1021
  • +
    M4
  • +
    1013
  • +
    B3
  • +
    B4
  • +
    J14
DESIGNER

SYLVAIN DUBUISSON

Architecte et designer, Sylvain Dubuisson est né à Bordeaux le 20 février 1946, au sein d'une famille d'architectes de renom : il est le petit-fils d'Émile Dubuisson, auteur du beffroi de Lille, et le fils de Jean Dubuisson qui a notamment collaboré, à Paris, à la réalisation du quartier Maine-Montparnasse (1958-1966) ainsi qu'à la construction du Musée national des arts et traditions populaires (1959-1969).

Sylvain Dubuisson
1946

Diplômé en 1973 de l’École supérieure d’architecture de Saint-Luc de Tournai, en Belgique, Sylvain Dubuisson s’installe indépendamment, dès 1980. Face à la génération des designers qui émerge alors et qui puise dans la culture de la rue et de la bande dessinée les fondements d’un design expressif, souvent ludique et chargé d’un grand pouvoir de communication, Dubuisson se singularise par une culture très personnelle, qui mêle des connaissances classiques et surtout littéraires à une curiosité pour les sciences et à une fascination pour les technologies de pointe.

Son perfectionnisme le porte à faire le tour des usines et des fabricants, à réfléchir sans cesse sur la tolérance des nouveaux matériaux, sur la géométrie exacte du tracé et la juste proportion des formes. Ses premières œuvres sont les « objets psychotiques », faits d’un arrangement d’éléments hétéroclites, comme la lampe Beaucoup de bruit pour rien (1984, coll. du Fonds national d’art contemporain, déposée au musée des Arts décoratifs à Paris). Dubuisson les nomme ainsi car ils appartiennent à une période de son activité où, par volonté d’affirmer sa propre vision du design, il autofinance ses créations, qui demeurent pour la plupart au stade de prototype.

Il s’interroge par la suite sur l’essence des objets. Comment une pendule, par exemple, peut-elle à la fois donner l’heure et transmettre la notion du temps.

SYLVAIN DUBUISSON

LAMPE À POSER WATT

LAMPE À POSER WATT

En savoir +