DISDEROT LIGHTINGS

  • +
    Watt
  • +
    A21
  • +
    A23
  • +
    A24-1500
  • +
    A24-2200
  • +
    A25
  • +
    A25-190
  • +
    A26-S
  • +
    2093-80
  • +
    2093-150
  • +
    2093-225
  • +
    2093-A
  • +
    2093-BO
  • +
    B5
  • +
    2059
  • +
    AR65
  • +
    AR1
  • +
    6135GM
  • +
    6135PM
  • +
    5980
  • +
    RF503
  • +
    1021
  • +
    M4
  • +
    1013
  • +
    B3
  • +
    B4
  • +
    J14
DESIGNER

MICHEL MORTIER

Michel Mortier was born in Paris in 1925. Very early, he graduated from the School of Arts Appliqués at age 19 where he followed the teaching of Louis Sognot, René Gabriel and Etienne-Henri Martin, some of the masters of the French modernity. He went on to hold positions of responsibility at Studium du Louvre and Bon Marché in Brussels until he was appointed director of Marcel Gascoin's research department at the age of 24, ARHEC (Rational Development of Housing and Communities), until 1954.

Michel Mortier
1925-2015

There he met Pierre Guariche and Joseph-André Motte, with whom he became deeply involved, and founded with them  Atelier de Recherche Plastique (ARP), one of the first collective signatures in design in France. This dazzling experience (1954-1957) lays the foundations of modernity As well their organisation on their booth at the Art Ménager fair than their invention of a revolutionary multifunction furniture or Minvielle or a range of modular seating for Steiner or the use of a new plastic wire material, Rotaflex, for luminaires manufactured by Disderot.

For Michel Mortier, these are just the beginnings of a dazzling career: artistic director of the Maison Française 55, creator of models for the best French publishers, editor for many magazines, graphic designer, and especially teacher in almost all major French schools (ENSAD, Camondo, the School Arts Appliqués and finally the new school of product design ESAG Penninghen) but also in Montreal.

With his agency HEIM (Habitation, Esthetic Industrial Furniture) he devoted himself to the interior architecture then obtained the title of architect in 1977 for the design beautiful houses for customer with a the modern and stripped style.

This discreet but uncompromising man gets all the titles a designer can dream up: silver medal at 26 and gold medal at 29 at the Triennale in Milan and the Prix René Gabriel at 38!

The range of lighting he designed with Pierre Guariche in the early 1950s is marked by a great modernity, rigor in his design, and a genuine concern for functionality.

Michel Mortier’s pieces have joined the largest collections of design such as those of the CNAP, the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art of Saint-Etienne Metropole or the national collection of decorative arts.

MICHEL MORTIER

SUSPENSION M4

SUSPENSION M4

Find out more

LUMINAIRES DISDEROT 2018

DESIGNER

MICHEL MORTIER

Michel Mortier est né à Paris en 1925. Très précoce, il est diplômé de l’école des Arts Appliqués à 19 ans où il suit l’enseignement de Louis Sognot, René Gabriel et Étienne-Henri Martin, quelques-uns des maîtres de la modernité française. Il enchaîne ensuite les postes à responsabilité au Studium du Louvre puis au Bon Marché à Bruxelles jusqu’à prendre à 24 ans la direction du bureau d’études de Marcel Gascoin, l’ARHEC (Aménagement rationnel de l’habitation et des collectivités), jusqu’en 1954.

Michel Mortier
1925-2015

Il y rencontre Pierre Guariche et Joseph-André Motte avec qui il se lie d’une profonde amitié jusqu’à fonder avec eux l’Atelier de Recherche Plastique (ARP) une des premières signatures collectives dans le design en France. Cette expérience fulgurante (1954-1957) jette les bases d’une modernité française, tant par leurs propositions d’aménagements sur leurs stands remarquables du salon des Arts Ménagers que par l’invention d’un mobilier multifonction révolutionnaire pour Minvielle ou d’une gamme de sièges modulaires pour Steiner ou encore par l’utilisation d’un nouveau matériau à base de fil plastique, le Rotaflex, pour des luminaires édités par Disderot.

Pour Michel Mortier, ce ne sont que les débuts d’une carrière éblouissante : directeur artistique de la Maison Française 55, créateur de modèles pour les meilleurs éditeurs français, rédacteur pour de nombreuses revues, graphiste, et surtout enseignant dans la presque totalité des grandes écoles françaises (L’ENSAD, Camondo, l’École des Arts Appliqués et enfin la nouvelle école de design produit L’ESAG Penninghen) mais aussi à Montréal.

Avec son agence HEIM (Habitation, Esthétique Industrielle Mobilier) il se consacre à l’architecture intérieure puis obtient le titre d’architecte en 1977 pour la conception de très belles maisons de particuliers au style moderne et dépouillé.

Cet homme discret mais sans concession obtient tous les titres dont un designer peut rêver : médaille d’argent à 26 ans et  médaille d’or à 29 ans à la Triennale de Milan et le prix René-Gabriel à 38 ans !

La gamme de luminaires qu’il conçoit avec Pierre Guariche au tout début des années 1950 est empreinte d’une grande modernité, de rigueur dans son dessin, et d’un véritable souci de fonctionnalité.

Les pièces de Michel Mortier ont rejoint les plus grandes collections de design telles que celles du CNAP, du Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Saint-Etienne Métropole ou encore la collection nationale des arts décoratifs.

MICHEL MORTIER

SUSPENSION M4

SUSPENSION M4

En savoir +