DISDEROT LIGHTINGS 2018

DESIGNER

ROGER FATUS

Roger Fatus was born in 1926. After trying law studies in Lille, he turned to the School of Beaux-ARTs /in his hometown, Tourcoing, much closer to his concerns. He then studied at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris from which he graduated in 1953. After two years of work in a design office, he joined the agency of Jacques Dumond, talented decorator with modern elegance and the high customer keen of of luxurious large public projects. He is joined by his friend Dirk Jan Rol, whom he met at ENSAD. The agency Jacques Dumond is for many young graduates including Roger Fatus, a school of rigor and a real springboard.

Roger Fatus
1926

At the instigation of Jacques Dumond, Fatus exhibited at the Salon des Artistes Décorateurs in 1956, then at the universel Fair in Brussels in 1958, and participated in the equipment of an witness apartment of the architect Pierre Vago in the one of the most innovative urban planning projects of its time, Interbau (a residential district in West Berlin).

His career is launched. He opens his agency Rue Madame in Paris and develops different types of projects: private apartments, community development, children’s furniture edition etc.
He assisted the development of the tertiary sector in France during the Thirty Glorious and worked for Thomson’s head office, Pathé Marconi stores or Fnac. his elegant, functional and rigorous design appeals both large hotel chains than the first Louison Bobet thalassotherapy institute in Quiberon.

In 1967 the Mobilier National commissioned him to study a conference table. Realized in the ARC workshops, the Grand Prix du Meuble will be awarded in 1968.
He works regularly with his brother Marc Fatus architect, and his creations are published at Sentou or at Disderot for lighting.

His modern and refined style, the formal and moral rigor of his drawing from the tradition of the modernist decorators of the interwar period and the Union of Modern Artists bring him a real recognition and several awards as the prestigious Prix René -Gabriel in 1969. He teaches for several years first at the ENSAD where he came from and then at the Camondo school that he directed from 1982 to 1989.

ROGER FATUS

LAMPE À POSER 1021
& LAMPADAIRE RF503

LAMPE À POSER 1021

Find out more

LAMPADAIRE RF503

Find out more

LUMINAIRES DISDEROT 2018

DESIGNER

ROGER FATUS

Roger Fatus est né en 1926. Après avoir essayé des études de droit à Lille, il se tourne vers l’école des Beaux-Arts de sa ville natale, Tourcoing, bien plus proche de ses préoccupations. Il étudie ensuite à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris dont il sort diplômé en 1953. Après deux années de travail en bureau d’études, il intègre l’agence de Jacques Dumond, décorateur talentueux à l’élégance moderne et à la clientèle aisée adepte des grands projets publics luxueux. Il est rejoint par son ami Dirk Jan Rol, qu’il avait rencontré à l’ENSAD. L’agence Jacques Dumond est pour de nombreux jeunes diplômés dont Roger Fatus, une école de la rigueur et un véritable tremplin.

Roger Fatus
1926

A l’instigation de Jacques Dumond, Fatus expose au Salon des Artistes Décorateurs dès 1956, puis à l’Exposition universelle de Bruxelles en 1958, et participe à l’équipement d’un appartement-témoin de l’architecte Pierre Vago dans l’un des projets d’urbanisme les plus innovants de son temps, Interbau (un quartier d’unité d’habitation à Berlin ouest).

Sa carrière est lancée. Il ouvre son agence rue Madame à Paris et développe différents types de projets : appartements privés, aménagement de collectivités, édition de mobilier pour enfants etc.

Il accompagne le développement du secteur tertiaire en France durant les Trente Glorieuses et travaille pour le siège social de Thomson, les magasins Pathé Marconi ou la Fnac. Son dessin élégant, fonctionnel et rigoureux séduit aussi bien de grandes chaînes d’hôtellerie que le premier institut de thalassothérapie Louison Bobet à Quiberon.

En 1967 le Mobilier national lui commande l’étude d’une table de conférence. Réalisée dans les ateliers de l’ARC, le Grand Prix du Meuble lui sera attribué en 1968.

Il travaille régulièrement avec son frère Marc Fatus architecte, et ses créations sont éditées chez Sentou ou chez Disderot pour les luminaires.

Son style moderne et raffiné, la rigueur formelle et morale de son dessin issue de la tradition des décorateurs modernistes de
l’entre-deux-guerres et de l’Union des Artistes Modernes lui apportent une véritable reconnaissance et plusieurs récompenses comme le prestigieux prix
René-Gabriel en 1969. Il enseigne de nombreuses années d’abord à l’ENSAD dont il est issu puis à l’école Camondo qu’il dirige de 1982 à 1989.

ROGER FATUS

LAMPE À POSER 1021
& LAMPADAIRE RF503

LAMPE À POSER 1021

En savoir +

LAMPADAIRE RF503

En savoir +