DISDEROT LIGHTINGS

  • +
    Watt
  • +
    A21
  • +
    A23
  • +
    A24-1500
  • +
    A24-2200
  • +
    A25
  • +
    A25-190
  • +
    A26-S
  • +
    2093-80
  • +
    2093-150
  • +
    2093-225
  • +
    2093-A
  • +
    2093-BO
  • +
    B5
  • +
    2059
  • +
    AR65
  • +
    AR1
  • +
    6135GM
  • +
    6135PM
  • +
    5980
  • +
    RF503
  • +
    1021
  • +
    M4
  • +
    1013
  • +
    B3
  • +
    B4
  • +
    J14
  • +
    J13
DESIGNER

Alain Richard

Born in 1926 in Bretagne, Alain Richard could have become a sailor, but his early skills guide him, between painting and architecture, to the National School of Decorative Arts in Paris. Under the direction of René Gabriel, emblematic figure of the aesthetics of reconstruction and spiritual father of a new generation of interior designers, he became major of his promotion ahead of Pierre Guariche to immediately join the agency of his master. But the untimely death of the latter pushed him to found his own agency in 1952 with his wife Jacqueline Iribe, creator of fabrics and specialist in color, with which he will work all his life.

ALAIN RICHARD
1926-2017

Since then, he has had an exceptional career creating Groupe 4 for Charron, one of the most influential of his time, taking part in major French and international exhibitions and collecting for example the successes of editions for TV mobilier or for the Pierre Disderot Workshops.Public orders flow, including for the National Furniture of which he is one of the most requested contributors, for embassies or for the train. He becomes a specialist in interior design museum.He took care of more than twenty in France and in the world. This huge success led him to found Alain Richard SA agency in 1971 to carry out these large-scale projects.He includes of the leading graphic design agencies in France and will employ up to 40 people.

Alain Richard is without a doubt the most elegant French interior designer of his generation. Pushing the rigor to the highest point, he impose himself among the most modernists and the most radical of them. Its minimal style, purified of all superfluous decor, creates simple shapes perfectly proportioned to the service of a perfect functionality. This radical and scrupulous ethics of form is in every details at the service of an uncompromising elegance that elevates aesthetics to a level of moral value.

This talent and his success offer to Alain Richard the most beautiful awards of his time among which, the grand prize of the Triennale of Milan since 1954, the one of the Universal Exhibition of 1958, several gold medals of the SEAI and the reward René-Gabriel in 1964.He teaches at ENSAD and advises the Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

His friendly relationship with Pierre Disderot is truly intimate both personally and professionally and result to some of the finest French fixtures also to a type of the most innovative aesthetically and technically, as the first French spot at the end of the 50’s.

ALAIN RICHARD

5980, A25, A25-190 WALL LAMP
A21 LAMP, A23 FLOOR LAMP
A24-1500, A24-2200 WALL LAMP
& A26-S SUSPENSION

APPLIQUE 5980

Find out more

A21 LAMP

Find out more

A23 FLOOR LAMP

Find out more

A24-1500 WALL LAMP

Find out more

A24-2200 WALL LAMP

Find out more

A25 WALL LAMP

Find out more

A25-190 WALL LAMP

Find out more

A26-S SUSPENSION

Find out more

LUMINAIRES DISDEROT 2018

DESIGNER

Alain Richard

Né en 1926 en Bretagne, Alain Richard aurait pu devenir marin mais ses aptitudes précoces l’orientent, entre peinture et architecture, vers l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs à Paris. Sous la direction de René Gabriel, figure emblématique de l’esthétique de la reconstruction et père spirituel d’une nouvelle génération d’architectes d’intérieur, il devient major de sa promotion devant Pierre Guariche pour immédiatement rejoindre l’agence de son maître. Mais la mort prématurée de ce dernier le pousse à fonder sa propre agence dès 1952 avec sa femme Jacqueline Iribe, créatrice de tissus et spécialiste de la couleur, avec laquelle il travaillera toute sa vie.

ALAIN RICHARD
1926-2017

Dès lors, il mène une carrière exceptionnelle créant le Groupe 4 pour Charron, l’un des plus influents de son temps, participe aux grands salons français et internationaux et collectionne les réussites d’éditions pour Meubles TV par exemple ou pour les Ateliers Pierre Disderot. Les commandes publiques affluent y compris pour le Mobilier national dont il est l’un des contributeurs les plus demandé, pour des ambassades ou pour le RER. Il devient spécialite de l’aménagement de musées. Il en réalise plus d’une vingtaine en France et dans le monde. Cet immense succès le conduit à fonder l’agence Alain Richard SA en 1971 pour mener à bien ces projets de grande envergure. Il y intègre l’une des premières agences de design graphique en France et son effectif montera jusqu’à 40 personnes.

Alain Richard est sans doute le plus élégant des architectes d’intérieur français de sa génération. Poussant la rigueur au plus haut point, il s’impose aussi parmi les plus modernistes et les plus radicaux d’entre eux. Son style minimal épuré de tout décor superflu engendre des formes simples parfaitement proportionnées au service d’une fonctionnalité parfaite. Cette éthique radicale et scrupuleuse de la forme est jusque dans les détails au service d’une élégance sans compromis qui élève l’esthétique au niveau d’une valeur morale.

Ce talent et ses réussites offrent à Alain Richard les plus belles récompenses de son temps parmi lesquelles, le grand prix de la Triennale de Milan dès 1954, celui de l’Exposition universelle de 1958, plusieurs médailles d’or de la SEAI et le prix René-Gabriel en 1964.
Il enseigne à l’ENSAD et conseille le ministère des affaires culturelles.

Sa relation amicale avec Pierre Disderot est véritablement intime tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel et donne lieu à quelques-uns des plus beaux luminaires français et à une gamme des plus innovantes tant esthétiquement que techniquement, comme le premier spot français dès la fin des années 50.

ALAIN RICHARD

APPLIQUE 5980

APPLIQUE 5980

En savoir +