DISDEROT LIGHTINGS 2018

DISDEROT

COLLECTIBLE LIGHTINGS

Disderot perpetuate the timeless spirit of French creation from the 50s to the 70s with this made in France collection, respecting the tradition and quality. Gathering wall light, lamps, ceiling lamps and desk lamps. Each edited model is numbered and accompanied by a certificate of authenticity. This collection bring back to life the creations of : Ateliers Pierre Disderot.

DISDEROT 2018

When the lighting company Soka bought the Ateliers Pierre Disderot in 1984 to become Soka Disderot, it was with the idea of ​​perpetuating the work of one of the greatest French luminaire companies.
Today, its current leaders, faithful to the founding values, re-issuing few mythical models conforming to the originals, identical to the smallest details under the brand Disderot.

Disderot perpetuate the timeless spirit of French creation from the 50s to the 70s with this made in France collection, respecting the tradition and quality. Gathering wall light, lamps, ceiling lamps and desk lamps.
Each edited model is numbered and accompanied by a certificate of authenticity.

This collection of the greatest French designers from the 1950s to the 1970s resurfaced the creations of the Ateliers Pierre Disderot with respect for original works and craftsmanship.

LES ATELIERS PIERRE DISDEROT

FRENCH CREATIONS
OF LIGHTS TO THE YEARS 50 TO 70

Pierre Disderot was born in Paris in 1920 from Italian parents and took electricity course at the school Breguet. But his great sensitivity to architecture directs him towards architects and their fixtures. He joined the Groupe Espace founded in 1951 by André Bloc, the director of the magazine L'Architecture d'aujourd'hui.

PIERRE DISDEROT

He opened his first studio in Cachan in 1948 and his first works are marked by the classic modernism typical of the bronzers of the late 1940s but do not fit well with his progressive spirit.
It is his meeting with one of the masters of modernity of that time, Marcel Gascoin and his young team of the ARHEC (rational development of housing and communities) including Michel Mortier and Pierre Guariche who is at the origin of the radical turning point. From this collaboration come models recognized today as the greatest successes of the 1950s.
His partnership with members of the ARP (Plastic Research Workshop), Pierre Guariche, Joseph-Andre Motte, Michel Mortier but also Alain Richard gives birth to a multitude of models that reinvent the lighting of the house. The technique of metal bends to their aesthetic vision itself in the service of a functional requirement.
One of his strengths is to be able to understand the novelty and the interest of the modernity of the proposals of these young creators because he is himself an excellent designer of models. All his life, he will design lighting fixtures that will have nothing to envy to those of his teams. Many of his luminaries, as well as those of Guariche, Motte, Richard and Mortier appear in the most beautiful museums and unleash the enthusiasm of collectors.
Pierre Disderot adheres to the project of bringing together furniture, seating and lighting editors who share this same conception of modernity and their joint publicity is a manifesto. These are, for example, the magnificent shops of Charles Minvielle architected and directed by Dirk Jan Rol.
The activity of the workshops is a great success and Pierre Disderot has the collaboration of Pierre Paulin, Jacques Dumont, René-Jean Caillette, then in the 60’s Etienne Fermigier, Roger Fatus, Olivier Mourgue and then François Arnal.


Pierre Disderot- Salon du meuble, 1966

Beyond this edition of models, the Disderot workshops respond to numerous bespoke orders from interior designers or architects and win prestigious private and public commissions such as the France liner, Orly airport, UNESCO or Paris. House of the radio.
If the workshops have up to 80 people, the sale remains craft and most orders are taken at the Salon des arts ménagers. In 1967-68, the factory expanded and moved to Choisy-le-Roi, the warehouse are large, subtly organized by Alain Richard who was also the creator of the graphic charter and Disderot catalogs.
Always in search of the tip of modernity, Pierre Disderot buys licenses for new products such as this acetate thread glued by a drip of acetone on a wooden mold that gives birth to the brand Rotaflex under the direction of his Brother Jean Disderot. Pierre Guariche, Joseph-Andre Motte, Michel Mortier and of course the ARP seize it and produce some of the most beautiful models in this famous modern material, bright, unbreakable, easy to clean and with the light is so warm. The simplest of these consumer models were produced in large series because they were not expensive.

Pierre Disderot sold his workshops in 1984 and devoted himself to teaching and union activities. He died in 1991.

LUMINAIRES DISDEROT 2018

DISDEROT

LUMINAIRES DE COLLECTION

Disderot perpétue aujourd’hui l’esprit intemporel de la création française des années 50 à 70 avec cette collection fabriquée en France, dans le respect de la tradition et de la qualité. Elle réunit appliques murales, lampadaires, plafonniers et lampes de bureau. Cette collection refait vivre les créations des Ateliers Pierre Disderot.

DISDEROT 2017

Quand l’entreprise de luminaires Soka achète les Ateliers Pierre Disderot en 1984 pour devenir Soka Disderot, c’est dans l’idée de perpétuer l’˙uvre d’un des plus grands éditeurs de luminaires français. Aujourd’hui, ses dirigeants actuels, fidèles aux valeurs fondatrices, rééditent certains modèles mythiques conformes aux originaux, identiques dans les moindres détails sous la marque Disderot.

Disderot perpétue aujourd’hui l’esprit intemporel de la création française des années 50 à 70 avec cette collection fabriquée en France, dans le respect de la tradition et de la qualité. Elle réunit appliques murales, lampadaires, plafonniers et lampes de bureau. Chaque modèle édité est numéroté et accompagné d’un certificat d’authenticité.

Cette collection des plus grands designers français des années 50 à 70 refait vivre les créations des Ateliers Pierre Disderot dans le respect des ˙uvres originales et du savoir-faire artisanal.

LES ATELIERS PIERRE DISDEROT

CRÉATIONS FRANÇAISES
DE LUMINAIRES DES ANNÉES 50 À 70

Pierre Disderot est né à Paris en 1920 de parents d'origine italienne et fait des études d'ingénieur en électricité à l'école Breguet. Mais sa grande sensibilité à l'architecture l'oriente vers les architectes et leurs luminaires. Il adhère au Groupe Espace fondé en 1951 par André Bloc, le directeur de la revue L'Architecture d'aujourd'hui.

PIERRE DISDEROT

Il ouvre son premier atelier à Cachan en 1948 et ses toutes premières réalisations sont empreintes du classicisme moderne typique des bronziers de la fin des années 40 mais s’accordent mal à son esprit progressiste.
C’est sa rencontre avec l’un des maîtres de la modernité de cette époque, Marcel Gascoin et sa jeune équipe de l’ARHEC (Aménagement rationnel de l’habitation et des collectivités) dont Michel Mortier et Pierre Guariche qui est à l’origine du tournant radical. De cette collaboration naissent des modèles reconnus aujourd’hui comme les plus grandes réussites des années 50.
Son partenariat avec les membres de l’ARP (Atelier de Recherche Plastique), Pierre Guariche, Joseph-André Motte, Michel Mortier mais aussi Alain Richard donne naissance à une multitude de modèles qui réinventent l’éclairage de la maison. La technique du métal se plie à leur vision esthétique elle-même au service d’une exigence fonctionnelle.
L’une de ses forces est d’avoir su comprendre la nouveauté et l’intérêt de la modernité des propositions de ces jeunes créateurs car il est lui-même un excellent concepteur de modèles. Toute sa vie, il dessinera des appareils d’éclairage qui n’auront rien à envier à ceux de ses équipes. Nombre de ses luminaires, au même titre que ceux de Guariche, de Motte, de Richard et de Mortier figurent dans les plus beaux musées et déchaînent l’enthousiasme des collectionneurs.
Pierre Disderot adhère au projet de regrouper les éditeurs de mobilier, de sièges, de luminaires qui partagent cette même conception de la modernité et leur publicité commune fait figure de manifeste. Ce sont, par exemple, les magnifiques boutiques de Charles Minvielle architecturées et mises en scène par Dirk Jan Rol.
L’activité des ateliers est un grand succès et Pierre Disderot s’adjoint la collaboration de Pierre Paulin, de Jacques Dumont, de René-Jean Caillette, puis dans les années 60 d’Etienne Fermigier, de Roger Fatus, d’Olivier Mourgue et ensuite de François Arnal.


Pierre Disderot- Salon du meuble, 1966

Au-delà de cette édition de modèles, les ateliers Disderot répondent à de nombreuses commandes sur mesure de décorateurs ou d’architectes et remportent de prestigieuses commandes privées et publiques comme le paquebot France, l’aéroport d’Orly, l’UNESCO ou la Maison de la radio.
Si les ateliers comptent jusqu’à 80 personnes, la vente demeure artisanale et la plupart des commandes se prennent au Salon des arts ménagers. En 1967-68, l’usine s’agrandit et s’installe à Choisy-le-Roi, les locaux sont grands, subtilement aménagés par Alain Richard qui a été aussi le créateur de la charte graphique et des catalogues Disderot.
Toujours en recherche de la pointe de la modernité, Pierre Disderot achète des licences de produits nouveaux comme ce fil d’acétate collé par un goutte à goutte d’acétone sur un moule en bois qui donne naissance à la marque Rotaflex sous la direction de son frère Jean Disderot. Pierre Guariche, Joseph-André Motte, Michel Mortier et bien sur l’ARP s’en emparent et produisent quelques-uns des plus beaux modèles dans ce matériau réputé moderne, lumineux, incassable, facile à nettoyer et dont la lumière est tellement chaleureuse. Les plus simples de ces modèles grand public ont été produits en grandes séries car ils n’étaient pas chers.

Pierre Disderot cède ses ateliers en 1984 et se consacre à l’enseignement et à des activités syndicales. Il décède en 1991.